Posted by: Elizabeth | October 30, 2011

When Mama Wants to Watch GameDay…

…and her toddler disagrees.

Almost every morning, Caroline gets to watch a few minutes of Sesame Street while she eats her cereal bar and I get our stuff ready for work/school.  There are thankfully several full seasons of episodes available on Netflix streaming, so she gets to see Big Bird just about every day.  Except Saturdays.  On Saturday mornings, Caroline’s Mama likes to watch College GameDay on ESPN.  It’s only for a few months a year that I get to see college football, and I am not too interested in watching old reruns of Sesame Street when there are predictions to be made, mascot heads to be worn, flags to be flown, and college football in general to be celebrated.  Sometimes, a simple explanation is all it takes:

C: “I want to watch Big Bird (and eat a cereal bar and drink chocolate milk).”

E: “But it’s Saturday, Sweetpea – on Saturdays, we watch football.”

C: “Oh, okay.”

Other days, it doesn’t go so smoothly.  That’s when you will see this at our house:

GameDay on ESPN, Sesame Street on Netflix streaming

Toddler-sized headphones complete the ensemble

It’s what I like to call “the best of both worlds.”

Responses

  1. In the first photo, it looks like the dog is watching Sesame Street, too.

  2. I DIE at those cheeks. Seriously. I need them in my life. She’s so stinkin’ cute.

  3. […] you may have gathered, I really love football.  So imagine my delight when I walked into Caroline’s preschool this morning and it was […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

