Posted by: Elizabeth | December 18, 2010

Halfway through, but not halfway through

So, it’s past my half-birthday now, which means if I’m going at a steady pace, I should be halfway through the list by now.  But, well, that’s not exactly the case.  In fact, I think I’ve only actually completed #s 3, 18, and 19.  And part of some others.  So I’m a bit behind. BUT, here’s an update:

#7.  Make a meal entirely from scratch.  This may not seem like a big deal to most people, especially those industrious friends of mine who cook dinner from scratch nearly every night of the week.  But for someone who hardly cooks at all, and rarely without something frozen, canned, or boxed, this is a bit on the intimidating side.  A few weeks ago, I got a craving for chocolate chip cookies, and I baked these entirely from scratch:

Heaven in a few bites

I thought about letting them count for #7.  For one thing, there were a LOT of them (which meant many for sharing!  hooray!).  For two, they definitely counted as a meal for me more than once just after I made them.  And they were quite the baking accomplishment, as they were not only tasty but also the perfect texture.

But, I realized that cookies shouldn’t be counted as a meal, and luckily I did a bit of cooking last night to add to the mix, so I think #7 is now out of the way.  I meant to take some photos, but we ate it all too fast.  [I guess that means I’ll never be a professional blogger, eh?  That’s probably okay, as it would make the graduate degree feel a little bit unnecessary…].  Anyway, we had some good friends over and I cooked a pork tenderloin (thank you, Rachel Ray) and some delicious glazed carrots.  I also snapped the green beans that Steven ended up actually cooking while I tended to our child and our guests, but since I planned the meal, did the shopping, and cooked the main dish and one of the sides (completely from scratch), I’m calling it good.

Hooray!  4 down, 26 to go.  No problem.

Leave a Reply

Categories

