Posted by: Elizabeth | August 12, 2010

30 for 30

I have been inspired by my friend Elizabeth over at Bits and Wiz and the folks at ESPN to create my very on 30 for 30 list: 30 things to do in my 30th year.  Now I know what you’re thinking: first, it’s actually my 31st year if I’m 30 years old.  But it’s just like the whole millenium thing – who wants to celebrate the 30th year when they’re 29?  And, of course, my birthday was 2 months ago.  So really now I only have 10 months to do my 30 things.  But I’ve been thinking about the list since before my birthday and I’ve just completed it.  Some of these are things that I’ve never done before, some are things that I haven’t done in a while, and some are things that I’m challenging myself to do because I’m reluctant to try them.  I’ll try to let you (my 3 phantom blog-readers) know when I’ve marked something off the list (except #18, which I’ve just recently completed).  Wish me luck!

  1. Run a 5K in 30 minutes or less.
  2. Plant something.
  3. Visit a museum (voluntarily) and actually read some of the exhibits.
  4. Ride a bike to/from work.
  5. Preach without a manuscript (or [gasp!] without notes altogether).
  6. Sleep outside for at least one night (could be in a tent).
  7. Make an entire meal completely from scratch.
  8. Spend 24 hours in silence.
  9. Spend 24 hours without internet access (voluntarily).
  10. Go on a boat.
  11. Catch a fish.
  12. Write something and send it to be published.
  13. Be a vegetarian for at least a week.
  14. Go on a photography excursion around the house/neighborhood.
  15. Go swimming in a public place (or at least somewhere I could possibly run into someone I know).
  16. Learn something new on guitar and perform it.
  17. Learn something new on piano and perform it.
  18. Write a letter (not a thank-you note) and send it.
  19. Eat something new from the sea (that I haven’t eaten before).
  20. Shoot a gun (but not at anything alive).
  21. Memorize a poem.
  22. Memorize a chapter of Scripture.
  23. Knit something challenging.
  24. Volunteer for something (not church-related).
  25. Go 7 days without eating out (no food prepared in a commercial kitchen).
  26. Plan and carry out a surprise date with my husband.
  27. Get on a plane with no work to do, just a fun book to read.
  28. Attend sporting events at the high school, college, and professional level, wearing appropriate team colors.
  29. Dance with my husband (and/or daughter) in a public place, even if no one else is dancing.
  30. Sing karaoke.

Responses

  1. an excellent, brave and challenging list. Good luck to you.

  2. This is quite an inspiring list… perhaps I’ll make one of my own. At some point. Maybe.

  3. I really want to know how you are going to do #8 with a toddler around. :)

    • Well I obviously won’t do it with her around! I’m imagining she’ll be with her dad or grandparents.

  4. Hey Elizabeth –
    I didn’t know you were a knitter! Me, too! What would qualify as “challenging” for you?

    • Anything that isn’t perfectly round or perfectly straight: I’ve done hats (no earflaps or anything), scarves, and one blanket. I was thinking a hat with earflaps, some socks, or even a tiny sweater would be plenty challenging!

  5. this is cool, Elizabeth! (reading about your museum trip made me look for the list). I will turn 50 next summer, and think I will make a list with 50 things on it! (Luckily, I’m giving myself plenty of time to think of them…) Thanks for the inspiration!
    MP
    PS the kids were given bibles in church today. Cutest thing ever! They all sat back in the pews, and spent the rest of the service reading them!

  6. […] there’s more to come about the list and Thanksgiving, Duke Basketball in the Northwest and our first real (meaning fake but […]

  7. […] my half-birthday now, which means if I’m going at a steady pace, I should be halfway through the list by now.  But, well, that’s not exactly the case.  In fact, I think I’ve only actually […]

  8. […] completed #27 on my 30 for 30 list a couple of weeks […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

