Posted by: Elizabeth | March 21, 2010

10 Months Old

Caroline is 10 months old today, which means we’re only 2 months from her first birthday!  While I’m quite excited to throw her a little party in May, I am also in disbelief that she could possibly be that old.  Where does the time go?!

She celebrated her big milestone today by… being cranky.  Yep, it’s true.  There were moments of fun and laughter, but lots of super-sensitivity and whining.  I think it’s partly because she’s stayed up too late the last two nights, and partly because she’s teething again.  Her third tooth broke through yesterday (on the bottom next to the two she’s had for months) and it looks like she’s got three more that could come in any second (top center two and another one on the bottom).  Poor thing: she is chewing on anything and everything she can get her hands on.  So I can’t really blame her for being so cranky!

Another milestone: finally starting to pull up on her feet.  I think when she realizes that she can do this, she will be running everywhere, because when we hold her up for supported walking, she totally knows what to do – left, right, left, right… but she takes HUGE steps!

I do want to use this space to try to remember some of her habits and eccentricities that I can’t capture in photos (especially because she is SO SPEEDY nowadays and wants only to eat the camera as soon as she sees it…).  So here are a few things that come to mind:

  • When she’s taking a bottle or sitting on our laps for any other reason, she almost always crosses her ankles.  Very prim and proper.
  • She plays with her hair, especially when she’s tired.
  • She loves shoes, socks, hangers, and jewelry of all kinds.
  • She is absolutely obsessed with shoelaces and electrical cords.
  • When she’s crawling fast, you can hear her coming because she gets so excited that she kind of hums the whole way.
  • We had to move her crib because she was close to the window in her room and would keep herself awake by playing with the mini-blinds (until her arm got stuck out the crib slats).
  • Her first-thing-in-the-morning smile is my very favorite thing.  Every morning, huge grin.  It’s an awesome way to start your day.

Okay, that’s all for now.  We’re a bit exhausted at the end of the weekend because we haven’t had any help from Nanny Stephanie in three days!  Caroline is wonderful – such a gift – but wow, she is BUSY.

Responses

  1. Hi there! I just found your blog from (i think) something you posted in madrona moms. Anyways, I think we might have been in a birthing class together at Swedish but I’m not sure. You guys look familiar and my boy is just about to turn 10 months so I figured that’s where I recognize you from. :) We have a baby blog as well: benjicorn.wordpress.com

    Caroline is adorable! And I love your writing. Makes me realize I need to actually write more on mine :)

  2. Awwww….I’m just catching up on your blog and it makes me miss you and wish I could see all of these accomplishments of Miss Caroline. I love that she’s as prim and proper as her Mom. :)


Leave a Reply

Categories

