Posted by: Elizabeth | December 23, 2009

Two More Bests

I didn’t get a chance to post last night because I didn’t get home from church until after 10:00.  We had a looong meeting of a task force that I called together to discern the worship times for when we get to our new building next month.  Crazy, huh?  We have a proposal to present to the ad council in a couple of weeks, but it’s a secret until then!

Anyway, here are my “bests” from yesterday and today:

22. Best Startup: What’s a business that you found this year that you love? Who thought it up? What makes it special? The Yellow Leaf Cupcake Company on 4th Avenue.

Pure yummy goodness

I don’t know who thought this place up, but I LOVE it.  I started loving cupcakes when I was pregnant after a lifetime of not really caring too much for cake and hating icing.  [Perhaps this love for cupcakes is part of what made me gain an obscene amount of weight while my tiny girl was in utero, but that’s beside the point…] Anyway, I know cupcakes are all the rage and there are cupcake boutiques popping up all over, and in Seattle there are a couple of main camps: Cupcake Royale and Trophy Cupcakes.  And if I had to choose between those two, I’d probably go Royale because there’s one in walking distance of our apartment and frankly I don’t think the two are all that different.  But seriously, y’all, Yellow Leaf makes these others look like amateurs, like grocery store cupcakes, like the slightly smushed sweaty number you had at your end-of-the-year party in fifth grade.  I don’t know what kind of crack they use, but the cupcakes are THAT GOOD.  It’s about 12 blocks from my office and hardly a day goes by that I don’t ask myself if I could burn enough calories on the walk to and from the store to rationalize eating one of these delicious little gifts.  Okay I have to stop talking about it now.

23.  Web Tool: It came into your work flow this year and now you couldn’t live without it. It has simplified or improved your online experience. I have a tendency to get a little distracted at times.  I know, I know, you’re totally surprised.  But one way this distraction is evidenced in my work is by the number of tabs I have open at one time in my internet browser.  I start with just two: my email and my google calendar.  Then maybe I open a third for Pandora radio.  Then I might check my blogs on Google Reader, and we’re off to the races.  The problem is there are so many articles and blogs that I want to read that I could just spend all day reading stuff on my computer and never get any actual work done.  So I have a habit of opening all of these webpages and just leaving them in the Firefox tabs until I finally have time to read the articles, which may be days or weeks or even months down the road – and inevitably my computer will automatically install some kind of update during the night one night and I’ll lose all those tabs eventually, anyway.

But lately, instead of just opening a tab and leaving it open indefinitely, I’ve been tagging things in Evernote.  You can put all kinds of things in there: web pages, text clips, voice memos, PDFs, whatever you want.  And you tag all of your “clips” with a subject, like “parenting” or “leadership” or “theology,” and then when you DO have time to do a little reading, it’s all in the same place.  I primarily use this as a sort of on-the-go bookmarks depository, which is not really using even half of its capability (and I could use a service like Delicious if I just wanted to keep bookmarks), but I prefer the look of the Evernote program and I find it easy to use and appealing.  It helps that I’ve got the AddThis button in my FireFox toolbar so I can just click that button on any webpage on the internet and get a copy of it in my evernote file.  Pretty awesome.

I’m feeling kind of nerdy with all this internet talk.  Time to go help Steven bake some cookies for his office, then I’m off to bed.  Tomorrow’s a big day: playing with Caroline in the morning (and we may be so bold as to venture to Target for a few last-minute things for the Christmas Eve service), work in the afternoon, then a fantastic Christmas Eve service tomorrow evening.  If you’re looking for a family-friendly, non-intimidating, inspiring and fun worship service to attend tomorrow night, join us at 7:00 p.m. at the Seattle Children’s Theatre.  Parking is free in the Seattle Center garage between Warren, John, 1st N, and Thomas.  Coffee and cookies from 6:15, music starts at 6:30, service at 7:00.  Professional childcare provided.

Can you believe tomorrow is Christmas Eve?  Astounding.

Responses

  1. No, I can’t believe it is Christmas Eve and I can’t believe that photo of the cupcakes made my stomach growl. LOL.

    Great reading you!


Leave a Reply

Categories

