Posted by: Elizabeth | December 21, 2009

Seven Months, Longest Night, and Best Project of 2009

My tiny girl is seven months old today.  Seven months.  Wow.  She is so amazing: bright, curious, stubborn, sensitive, happy, loving.  She gets so frustrated that she can’t do more things,  like her body has betrayed her because she’s not coordinated enough to do all her mind can imagine.  I hope she never loses that sense that more is possible or that drive to work to make it reality.

Quick photo I snapped this morning while she was watching Sesame Street (yes, we let our baby watch TV while we get ready sometimes):

Looking so much like a big kid!

The photo I really wish I had happened about 20 minutes after this.  I was finishing up getting ready in our bathroom and Caroline wanted to participate.  So imagine her sitting on the bathroom counter, one foot in the sink, a big comb in one hand and a small clock in the other, pacifier in her mouth, banging the two objects together while she watched me lean over her (so she couldn’t fall off the counter) to put mascara on in the mirror.  Too bad I can’t take snapshots with my mind!  It would’ve been a cute picture.

Tonight is the longest night of the year.  We celebrate this at our church with a “longest night” service, which is sometimes called “Blue Christmas.”  It’s a more meditative (still joyful, but in a more subdued way) service especially for those who are grieving, anxious, doubtful, or afraid.  It was really a great service.  I got to celebrate communion, which I totally love.  It never loses its power for me, no matter how many times I participate.

In case you’re wondering, the longest night of the year in Seattle lasts for 15 hours and 35 minutes.  The sun officially set this afternoon at 4:20 p.m. and it will rise tomorrow morning at 7:55 a.m.  It’s a lot of darkness, I admit, but it really hasn’t bothered me so much this year.  Maybe I’m getting used to it in our third Seattle winter.  Or maybe the rhythm or our life has just changed so completely this year I haven’t really noticed the official length of the days getting shorter.  Either way, there’s great hope in the days getting longer, and that starts tomorrow.  Hooray!

And now, the “best of 2009” for today:

21. Best Project: What did you start this year that you’re proud of? You’re lookin’ at it.  It’s this blog.  Where I can post cute photos like this:

Reading with Daddy

Leave a Reply

Categories

