Posted by: Elizabeth | December 8, 2009

Best of 2009: Moment of Peace

8.  Moment of peace:  An hour or a day or a week of solitude. What was the quality of your breath? The state of your mind? How did you get there?
At first I thought I would have to write, “Are you kidding?  I’m a new mom!  When have I had a moment of peace?!”  But on further reflection (see, this is why this is such a helpful exercise!), I think of a couple of moments of peace.  I’m not sure they were hours, days, or weeks of solitude… but I do remember lying by the beach for a while in Kauai, listening to the waves and the people around us, with absolutely perfect temperature and a light breeze.  And there have been several afternoons on the couch in our apartment with a tiny girl sleeping on my chest.  If a sleeping baby isn’t peace, I don’t know what is!

Peace

Leave a Reply

Categories

