Posted by: Elizabeth | December 7, 2009

Best of 2009: Blog Find

7.  Blog Find: That gem of a blog you can’t believe you didn’t know about until this year. My blog readership has increased dramatically in 2009.  I now follow about 90 blogs using Google Reader.  Many of those blogs don’t post every day (or even every week), and some post more often but I don’t read them.  But there are several that I love to read, both by folks I know and folks I’ve never met but now feel like I know.  Some have been going for a long time and I just recently found them, and others are newer.  I read lots of blogs about family life, some about parenting, LOTS about church leadership and Christian discipleship, some about bargains and good deals, some that make me laugh, and some that fit in that category called “miscellaneous.”  Of all these, I must say my very favorite is new this year and written by one of my oldest and dearest friends.  It always makes me laugh, usually makes me say, “Yes!  Thank you!  That’s exactly how I feel!” and generally makes me feel a wee bit closer to one of my favorite people, who lives far far away.  If you haven’t already guessed it, it’s Bitz and Wiz, written by my good friend Elizabeth Skogman.  Thanks for finally starting a blog, Liz. :)

Runners Up:

  • reverendmother: thoughts on being a pastor and a mom from an authentic, often funny, and sometimes deep perspective
  • Her.meneutics: a Christianity Today blog.  I’m surprised by this one, but my evangelical side loves it.  And it’s nothing if not thought-provoking.  These are the kinds of posts that make me wish I had a weekly discussion group.
  • Phoenix Berries: Another one with a mixture of thoughts on family life and parenting and theology and church stuff.  This has inspired me to think about parenting from a theological perspective, and I hope is making me a better parent, especially when it comes to spiritual formation for Caroline.
  • Return of the Texas Seattleite: We were so sad for Auntie Chelsea to move back to Texas, but we love reading about her adventures!
  • Seattle Moms Deal Finder: They don’t post 9,000 times a day about the deals they found at the grocery store using all the coupons from the paper (like many “bargains” sites), but they do post really interesting and helpful things that can be found specifically in Seattle (or online).
  • Margaret and Helen: sometimes crass, but always hilarious decidedly liberal political commentary.
  • and of course, Confessions of a Pioneer Woman: What’s not to love?

How about you?  What’s your best find of 2009 (besides Sweet Caroline, of course)?

Responses

  1. So instead of working, I spent the last hour reading Margaret and Helen. I have laughed so hard that I won’t need an ab workout for the week. Thank you for sharing!

  2. Would you consider me a total sissy if I admitted that I got a little teary when I read this? If so, forget I ever said it.

    I MISS YOU GUYS!!!!!

    • 100% NOT a sissy. Just far far away! We miss you, too!!!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

