Posted by: Elizabeth | August 16, 2009

A Room of Her Own

It’s probably not exactly what Virginia Woolf was talking about, but Caroline has a room of her own.  Before I explain, I’d like for you to compare these two photos.  The first one was taken when she was about a week old:

Week 1 in the Bassinet

Week 1 in the Bassinet

And this one was taken this past week:

Week 12 in the Bassinet

Week 12 in the Bassinet

I’d like to submit this as Exhibit A that our baby is growing like crazy.  And she’s officially outgrown her bassinet.  We finally broke down and ordered a monitor last week (a super-cool video one that lets me double-check that she’s breathing without actually going in her room), and to celebrate her 12-week birthday, we let Caroline sleep in her crib in her own room!  It’s really quite freeing to have our room back, though I must admit that I woke up at least 20 times the first night to look at the monitor, convinced that she had been in distress for hours and I hadn’t heard her.  She seems to like the crib just fine, though.  6 out of 7 nights this week, she slept from about 9:30pm to 7:00am.  And that, my friends, is AWESOME.

Did I mention that I went back to work this week and Steven is staying home for the second half of his paternity leave?  Yep, THAT’s when she decided to sleep through the night: when her dad was in charge of getting up during the night.  [sigh]

Caroline and Steven have been doing all kinds of fun stuff this week.  They rode the new Seattle light rail:

On the light rail in front of Safeco Field

On the light rail in front of Safeco Field

They went to “crybaby Tuesday” at a local movie theater to see Julie and Julia:

First Movie

First Movie

They got the oil changed in the car, visited the Burke Museum at the University of Washington, and went on long walks in the stroller.  I was pretty jealous of all the fun they were having while I was at work… I did pretty well, though, for the first week: I only cried one day!  Hopefully this coming week will be even better.

Here are a few more shots to brighten your day:

Hairdo

Hairdo

Above: Caroline still has her newborn hair on the nape of her neck.  It’s relatively thick, dark, and straight.  Just above it is her bald spot from rolling around on her head all the time.  The rest of her hair is super-fine and strawberry blond.  I think it’s kind of a funny hairdo. :)

Baby blues

Baby blues

I hope she keeps these gorgeous blue eyes.  There’s about a 50% chance, since her dad has blue eyes, but we won’t know for sure for several months still!

Here’s my favorite shot of the week.  Thanks to my friend Elizabeth for the cool shades!

Chillin' on a Sunny Day

Chillin' on a Sunny Day

Leave a Reply

Categories

