Posted by: Elizabeth | June 22, 2009

The Second Month

Half of me cannot believe that Caroline is already one month old!  It feels like time is flying by!

The other half of me cannot believe Caroline is ONLY one month old.  I can’t really remember what life was like before she arrived.  Except that I had a huge belly.  And my back hurt a lot.  And perfect strangers stared at me with no shame (and sometimes had the gall to pronounce my belly as “huge” and ask if I was going to have twins).  I remember that much. :)

We’ve been awfully busy this last week!  Last week, my mom and I took Caroline on a tour of the Theo Chocolate Factory in Fremont.  It was AWESOME.  If you ever get a chance to go on a tour of a chocolate factory, DO IT.  I must admit that it was nothing like Willy Wonka’s tour, but that’s probably okay.  If you remember, only one of those kids made it through the tour in one piece, and he had to run the chocolate factory after that.  I love chocolate, but I already have a job, and I don’t need another one.  So it’s a good thing this tour was different.  We learned all about the chocolate-making process from the cacao trees all the way to the chocolate bar in the grocery.  It was so interesting!  AND they gave us tons of free samples.  Free chocolate + interesting tour = perfect outing.

The only drawback was that we had to wear hairnets, because they don’t want hair in the chocolate (I appreciate that effort; it’s just unfortunate that hairnets look so terrible).  The men with beards also had to wear beardnets.  I wish I’d gotten a picture of that.

Chocolate Factory #1

Chocolate Factory #1

You can tell from the photo above that Caroline was just thrilled about the chocolate factory tour.  She did her best to mask her enthusiasm by sleeping through the entire thing.  Some day she, too, will know the joy of chocolate.  For now she mainly likes breastmilk and formula.

Here we are in the confection room, where Theo puts together some really amazing little sweets BY HAND.  Next time you’re there, try the Ghost Chile Caramels.  AMAZING.  [You can see that Caroline is keeping up her “I’m-way-too-cool-to-get-uber-excited-about-chocolate” act by pretending to be asleep.  Or maybe she really is asleep…]

Chocolate Factory #2

Chocolate Factory #2

They did not have baby hairnets, so I let Caroline try mine on.  Ha ha ha ha ha!!

Baby in a Hair Net

Baby in a Hair Net

All in all, it was a delightful outing.  It’s a good thing I don’t live near there, though.  I’m afraid I’d be popping over way too often for free samples.

The other big outing of the week was the 2009 Pacific Northwest Annual Conference at the University of Puget Sound in Tacoma.  [Fun fact: the university’s initials are UPS.  The other UPS (“What can brown do for you?”) started in Seattle, just up the street.  Bet you didn’t know that!]  Four days of fun!  I am so thankful that my mom was in town to help with Caroline, else I would have missed way more of the conference than I did.  Mom and Caroline stayed in the dorm for most of the conference and I ran back and forth to feed the baby and take naps in between important presentations and votes (though I couldn’t vote on the umpteen constitutional amendments because I’m only a provisional member of the conference, so I didn’t feel bad skipping out on that part).  Caroline did attend one plenary session.  She was a BIG hit on the floor of the conference: approximately 187 women asked to hold her, including a few I had never met before.  I mainly kept her to myself.  She’s a little small to be passing around to strangers.

Here’s Caroline in her first dorm room (thanks to Aunt Donna and Uncle Jim for the Pack ‘N Play!):

Lounging in the dorm

Lounging in the dorm

With Grandpa Dave (her local (not really related but we really like him) grandpa) after the SUPER-long Sunday morning read-all-the-appointments-at-one-time worship service:

With Grandpa Dave (Happy Father's Day!)

With Grandpa Dave (Happy Father's Day!)

[Unfortunately, that cute polka dot dress now fits like a shirt.  It’s way too short.  Did I mention that my one-month-old daughter is now just a smidge under two feet tall?  [sigh]]

And here’s a shot of the two of us in front of the “welcome” sign at the front of UPS:

Proof that we were there.

Proof that we were there.

I figure Caroline can be one of those folks who stands up in 70 years and says into microphone #4 (or whichever one she chooses), “I attended my first Annual Conference at the University of Puget Sound 70 years ago when I was only four weeks old.  My mother was a pastor, and she took me to conference until I was old enough to be a delegate myself…” and everyone will be so impressed with her longevity and commitment.  Or, maybe she’ll hate it and only go as long as I make her.  We shall see!

Responses

  1. Enjoyed reading your post. In a few weeks I’ll have a few days with my grandson who is about to turn 1 year old. He and his mom (my daughter) and son-in-law live 400 miles north of me and I don’t get to see them as often as I would like. The last time I saw Hunter (g/son) he was just home from the hospital 1 week.

    Thankfully, my daughter is up on taking pictures and posting them online to help me be a “little” connected.

    About a zillion years ago, I took a tour of Hershey’s Chocolate factory. You’re right, it was amazing.

    God bless,

    Pastor Andy Logan
    All Nations Word and Worship Center
    Corpus Christi, TX

  2. Elizabeth, I am your Daddy’s cousin from Mississippi. Let me say I have thoroughly enjoyed your blog. Baby sounds just facinating and certainly the most precious baby in the world. Congratulations. I know how much you love and enjoy her. Be sure and tell her that her Granddaddy, Hugh, was a much loved and appreciated baby too. We called him, “Hughbaby the New Baby”.

  3. I’m loving your blog! And your Baby Caroline is ABSOLUTELY PRECIOUS. But then you already knew that. Thanks for sharing with us! Btw, I can’t believe you’re just now visiting Theo Chocolate Factory! Brian and I loved it. Glad to see you and C did too. :)

    • I can’t believe we just went there for the first time, either! We’ve been meaning to for a year, and have even called a few times for reservations but they’ve been full. We just got lucky this time! It was so great!

  4. Liam went to Conference, too!


Leave a Reply

Categories

